McDonald Named Division III Men's Ice Hockey Player of the Year

STEVENS POINT, Wisc. – SUNY Geneseo senior goalie Devin McDonald was named the 2019 Sid Watson Award Winner as the Division III Men's Ice Hockey Player of the Year, announced Thursday night by the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). McDonald is the first player in program history to win the award. 

Also voted the seventh first-team All-American in program history, the 2019 SUNYAC Goalie of the Year currently leads the nation with a 1.15 goals against average, which would be the fourth-best single-season mark in Division III history if the season ended today. McDonald also ranks third in the country with a .943 save percentage, which would tie for 16th in Division III history. 

McDonald has compiled a 23-1-2 record to move up to fifth in Division III history with a 70-13-13 career mark while his 12 shutouts this season broke the previous record 10 compiled by St. Norbert's Kyle Jones on his way to the Sid Watson Award in 2008. 

McDonald also tied the Division III record with four-straight shutouts this season while not allowing a goal for 258:49 over six games for the fourth-longest scoreless streak in Division III history. His 18 career shutouts rank fourth in D3 history. 

McDonald was Geneseo's fifth Sid Watson Award finalist, joining forward Stephen Collins '17 (2016, 2017), forward Zachary Vit '14 (2014), forward Mitch Stephens '07 (2007) and goalie Brett Walker '05 (2005). 

The award was announced at the Division III Men's Ice Hockey banquet on the eve of Friday's national semifinals. Geneseo (25-1-2) faces Norwich (22-4-3) at 4:00 p.m. (EDT) while host Wisconsin-Stevens Point (27-0-2) faces Hobart (21-7-2) at 8:00 p.m. (EDT). The winners advance to the National Championship game on Saturday (March 23) at 8:00 p.m. (EDT).