Four Men's Ice Hockey Players Named All-America; Schultz Coach of the Year Runner-Up

STEVENS POINT, Wisc. – Four members of the SUNY Geneseo men's ice hockey team were named All-American by the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) while Chris Schultz was named runner-up for the Edward Jeremiah Award as the Division III National Coach of the Year, announced Thursday. 

Senior goalie Devin McDonald, junior forward Conlan Keenan and senior defenseman Duggie Lagrone landed First-Team All-America recognition while junior forward Andrew Romano copped second-team honors. 

The 2019 Sid Watson Award winner as the Division III Player of the Year, McDonald was also voted the 2019 SUNYAC Goalie of the Year and a First-Team SUNYAC All-Star. He currently leads the nation with a 1.15 goals against average, which would be the fourth-best single-season mark in Division III history if the season ended today. McDonald also ranks third in the country with a .943 save percentage, which would tie for 16th in Division III history. He has compiled a 23-1-2 record to move up to fifth in Division III history with a 70-13-13 career record while his 12 shutouts this season broke the previous record 10 compiled by St. Norbert's Kyle Jones in 2008. McDonald also tied the Division III record with four-straight shutouts this season while not allowing a goal for 258:49 over six games for the fourth-longest scoreless streak in Division III history. HIs 18 career shutouts rank fourth in D3 history. 

Keenan landed his second-straight All-American honor after garnering third-team recognition a season ago. The 2019 Herb Hammond Award winner (SUNYAC Player of the Year) currently ranks second nationally with 1.85 points per game, is tied for second with 0.88 goals per game and tied for 11th with 0.96 assists per game. Held without a point in only three of his 26 appearances this winter, he is currently tied for second in Division III with 48 points, tied for second with 23 goals and tied for 14th with 25 assists. He recently moved up to 20th in program history with his 122nd-career point while his 64 goals are 13th. Keenan repeated as a SUNYAC First-Team All-Star and also landed second-team honors as a first-year on his way to SUNYAC Rookie of the Year recognition. Keenan is the sixth player in program history to win the Herb Hammond and first since Stephen Collins '17 won back-to-back honors in 2016 and 2017. 

Lagrone received his first All-American award after also being voted a First-Team SUNYAC All-Star this winter. Also tabbed a third-team SUNYAC All-Star a year ago after transferring from Division-I Colorado College, he is currently tied for fifth among Division III defenseman with 27 points and 1.00 points per game, his 20 assists are tied for 38th among all players. Geneseo also owns the nation's top scoring defense, only allowing 1.21 goals per game. 

Romano leads the nation with 52 points, 42 assists, 1.86 points per game and 1.48 assists per game. Voted second-team All-SUNYAC for the first all-league honor of his collegiate career, he has scored at least one point in all but two of the Knights' games this winter, including a 16-game stretch that was the longest in Division III this season. Currently tied for ninth in Geneseo history with 90 assists and 22nd with 115 career points, he was named to the SUNYAC All-Tournament Team after a two-assist outing opposite Oswego in the championship game that followed a one-goal/three-assist performance in the Knights' 5-2 semifinal win over Fredonia. 

The All-America teams were announced at the Division III Men's Ice Hockey banquet on the eve of Friday's national semifinals. Geneseo (25-1-2) faces Norwich (22-4-3) at 4:00 p.m. (EDT) while host Wisconsin-Stevens Point faces Hobart at 8:00 p.m. (EDT). The winners advance to the National Championship game on Saturday (March 23) at 8:00 p.m. (EDT). 

2019 – Devin McDonald 1st Team Goalie (Sid Watson D3 Player of the Year)
2019 – Conlan Keenan 1st Team Forward
2019 – Duggie Lagrone 1st Team Defense
2019 – Andrew Romano 2nd Team Forward
2018 - Pat Condon 2nd Team Defense
2018 - Conlan Keenan 3rd Team Forward
2017 - Stephen Collins 1st Team Forward
2016 - Pat Condon 3rd Team Defense
2016 - Trevor Hills 2nd Team Forward
2016 - Stephen Collins 1st Team Forward
2014 - Zachary Vit 1st Team Forward
2011 - Danny Scagnelli 3rd Team Defense
2007 - Mitch Stephens 1st Team Forward
2005 - Brett Walker 2nd Team Goalie
1999 - Mark Breeden 2nd Team Goalie
1998 - Mark Breeden 2nd Team Goalie
1991 - Glen Mazurowski 1st Team Forward
1990 - Sean Cascio 2nd Team Defense
1990 - Chris Smith 1st Team Forward
1990 - Lou Germain 1st Team Goalie